How to Delete your Hotmail Account Permanently. Don’t need your Hotmail account anymore? Want to get rid of the duplicate account because you have a primary work email now? Whatever be your reason, you can easily delete your Hotmail/Outlook account permanently.
Keep in mind, before you are able to delete your account completely, Microsoft, as a safety precaution, may ask a few security questions to confirm your identity. It may also verify that you are sure to be deleting your account. To ensure your identity and your decision, it is imperative that you undergo a small security procedure and provide Microsoft with all the relevant information they require.
It is useful to know beforehand that once you delete your www.hotmail.com/Outlook account, you may lose your Outlook mailbox, the files you saved in OneDrive, your Skype Id, your X-Box Live data, and any other important information association with the email ID you wish to no longer use.
How to Permanently Delete Your Hotmail, Windows Live and Outlook Account
Here are a few things you can/should do before you remove your account indefinitely:
- Save all your files and data to a different account
- Share your alternate email address with important contacts or set an auto-email telling your contacts where to reach you
- Cancel any subscription linked to the account
- Use or transfer any money left in the account
- Disable reset protection if you use a Windows phone to ensure that your phone doesn’t become unusable after your account is closed.
How to Close a Hotmail Account: 8 Steps
At this point, it is important to know that deleting your Hotmail/Outlook account is not an instant process. Once you send the request to delete your account, it has to remain completely inactive for 90 days for your request to be processed.
Finally, let us follow these steps and delete the unwanted account permanently:
- Login Hotmail/Microsoft Account. This will lead you to the Outlook.com. As you are logged in now, go to https://account.microsoft.com/ to manage settings in your account.
- You will now be redirected to the Microsoft Account page where you will be able to see the Security Click on it.
- At the bottom of this, click on More Security Options. You may be prompted to enter the password to your email account here (to ensure the safety of your account).
- Then scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Close my account.
- At last, Microsoft will confirm you about all the stuff you must do before they delete your account. Select your reason from the drop-down and press Mark Account For Closure.